Home > Cloud Computing > Google IO 2011

Google IO 2011

I am so bummed that I could not get tickets to the Google IO 2011. I wanted to be there this year but tickets were sold out in 59 minutes and I could never get to the site.

As expected, a lot has been going on at the IO this year with big announcements coming from Google including its Cloud Music Service. My previous post was about Amazon’s cloud storage and music player and now we have another tech giant jumping into the same arena. I think Google has an advantage since it can immediately have an Android app and accessibility from Android phones will be high. However, I am not quite sure if I would use it from a mobile device especially if I have to use my 3G data plan. With telecom companies limiting the data plans, it is difficult to take advantage of such cloud based players.

One thing I would like to see is Google coming up with something totally radical and not just follow some other company’s game plan. Google is better than that and somehow, It trying to imitate others especially in the social network playground and now the cloud, leaves me a bit disappointed.

There were bunch of other announcements too including Movie rentals for Android, Icecream sandwich etc. You can find more of the google announcements here.

To watch it live, go here.

A lot of twitter activity is going on too and you can track it with tag #io2011. Google IO site has a cool around the globe tracking that you can see at http://www.google.com/events/io/2011/io2011.html .

I hope 2012 will be the year I can make it to this annual event.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a comment